Search for Montgomery County, NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Amsterdam City Hall 61 Church Street Amsterdam NY 12010 518-841-4302
Amsterdam Town Hall 283 Manny Corners Road Amsterdam NY 12010 518-842-7961
Ephratah Town Hall 3782 State Highway 10 St. Johnsville NY 13452 518-762-5688
Florida Town Clerk 181 New York 161 Amsterdam NY 12010 518-842-3703
Florida Town Hall 167 Fort Hunter Road Amsterdam NY 12010 518-842-1539
Glen Town Clerk 7 Erie Street Fultonville NY 12072 518-853-3633
Montgomery County Clerk 64 Broadway Fonda NY 12068 518-853-8111
Montgomery Health Department 20 Park Street Fonda NY 12068 518-853-3531
Perth Town Hall 1849 County Highway 107 Amsterdam NY 12010 518-843-6977
Root Town Clerk 1048 Carlisle Road Canajoharie NY 13317 518-673-2208
Root Town Hall 1048 Carlisle Road Sprakers NY 12166 518-673-2139
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Montgomery County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Montgomery County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.