Search for Clinton County, NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Beekmantown Town Hall 571 Spellman Rd West Chazy NY 12992 518-563-4650
Chazy Town Clerk 9631 U.s. 9 Chazy NY 12921 518-846-7201
Churubusco Town Hall 23 Smith Street Churubusco NY 12923 518-497-6133
Clinton County Clerk 137 Margaret Street Plattsburgh NY 12901 518-565-4600
Ellenburg Town Clerk 106 West Hill Road Ellenburg Center NY 12934 518-594-7368
Ellenburg Town Hall 13 Brandy Brook Road Ellenburg Center NY 12934 518-594-7340
Mooers Town Hall 11 Mcdonald Road Mooers Forks NY 12959 518-236-7927
Peru Town Clerk 3036 Main Street Peru NY 12972 518-643-9513
Peru Town Hall 3036 Main Street Peru NY 12972 518-643-2745
Plattsburgh City Clerk 41 City Hall Place Plattsburgh NY 12901 518-563-7701
Saranac Town Hall 3668 New York 3 Saranac NY 12981 518-293-6666
Schuyler Falls Town Clerk 997 Mason Street Morrisonville NY 12962 518-563-9066
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Clinton County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Clinton County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.