Search for Hamilton County, NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Arietta Town Clerk OLD PISECO Rd Piseco NY 12139 518-548-7321
Hamilton County Board of Supervisors 102 County Road 11 Lake Pleasant NY 12108 518-548-6651
Hamilton County Health Department 145 White Birch Lane Indian Lake NY 12842 518-648-6497
Indian Lake Town Clerk 5 Pelon Rd Indian Lake NY 12842 518-648-5211
Inlet Town Clerk 1 Limekiln Lake Road Inlet NY 13360 315-357-6601
Lake Pleasant Town Hall 2679 New York 8 Lake Pleasant NY 12108 518-548-3625
Long Lake Town Hall 1130 Deerland Road Long Lake NY 12847 518-624-2122
Morehouse Town Hall 733 New York 8 Hoffmeister NY 13353 315-826-7744
Wells Town Clerk 1438 New York 30 Wells NY 12190 518-924-7911
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Hamilton County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Hamilton County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.