Search for Tioga County, NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Barton Town Clerk 304 Waverly Street Waverly NY 14892 607-565-2261
Candor Village Clerk 138 Main Street Candor NY 13743 607-659-7966
Harford Town Hall 394 New York 38 Richford NY 13835 607-844-9176
Newark Valley Village Clerk 9 Park Street Newark Valley NY 13811 607-642-8686
Nichols Town Clerk 54 East River Road Nichols NY 13812 607-699-3110
Owego Town Clerk 2354 New York 434 Apalachin NY 13732 607-687-2194
Owego Town Hall 2354 New York 434 Owego NY 13827 607-687-0123
Owego Town Hall 2354 New York 434 Apalachin NY 13732 607-687-4039
Richford Town Hall BOWERY Ln Richford NY 13835 607-657-8090
Tioga County Clerk 56 Main Street Owego NY 13827 607-687-8240
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Tioga County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Tioga County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.