Search for Chenango County, NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Chenango County Clerk 5 Court Street Norwich NY 13815 607-337-1430
Columbus Town Hall COLUMBUS HILL Rd New Berlin NY 13411 607-847-6876
Guilford Town Clerk 125 Marble Road Guilford NY 13780 607-895-9966
New Berlin Village Clerk 13 South Main Street New Berlin NY 13411 607-847-6389
North Norwich Town Hall 188 County Road 23 Norwich NY 13815 607-334-9224
Norwich City Clerk 1 City Plaza Norwich NY 13815 607-334-1201
Norwich City Hall 1 City Plaza Norwich NY 13815 607-334-1200
Norwich Town Hall 157 County Road 32A Norwich NY 13815 607-337-2301
Oxford Village Clerk 20 Lafayette Park Oxford NY 13830 607-843-2333
Pitcher Town Clerk 156 Pitcher Springs Road Pitcher NY 13136 607-863-3511
Pitcher Town Hall 145 Town Hall Road Pitcher NY 13136 607-863-4460
Preston Clerk 852 County Road 4 Oxford NY 13830 607-336-5584
Sherburne Town Clerk 1 Canal Street Sherburne NY 13460 607-674-4481
South Otselic Town Hall 133 County Road 13 South Otselic NY 13155 315-653-7201
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Chenango County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Chenango County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.