Search for Madison County, NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Cazenovia Village Clerk 90 Albany Street Cazenovia NY 13035 315-655-4011
Chittenango Village Clerk 222 Genesee Street Chittenango NY 13037 315-687-3936
De Ruyter Town Hall 735 Utica Street DeRuyter NY 13052 315-852-9650
De Ruyter Village Clerk 1663 Cortland Street DeRuyter NY 13052 315-852-9625
Eaton Town Hall 35 Cedar Street Morrisville NY 13408 315-684-9110
Georgetown Town Clerk STATE Hwy Georgetown NY 13072 315-837-4299
Hamilton Town Clerk 16 Broad Street Hamilton NY 13346 315-824-3380
Madison County Clerk PO Box 635 Wampsville NY 13163 315-366-2201
Madison County Health Department 3059 Seneca Turnpike Canastota NY 13032 315-697-3947
Morrisville Village Clerk 23 Cedar Street Morrisville NY 13408 315-684-7007
Oneida City Clerk 109 North Main Street Oneida NY 13421 315-363-7378
Oneida City Hall 109 North Main Street Oneida NY 13421 315-363-4800
Stockbridge Town Clerk 6193 Valley Mills Road Munnsville NY 13409 315-495-6581
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Madison County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Madison County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.