Search for Otsego County, NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Brookfield Town Clerk 10533 Main Street West Edmeston NY 13485 315-899-3364
Butternuts Town Hall 3 Vale Street Morris NY 13808 607-783-2739
Cherry Valley Village Clerk 2 Genesee Street Cherry Valley NY 13320 607-264-3791
Laurens Town Clerk 37 Brook Street Laurens NY 13796 607-433-2816
Maryland Town Clerk 27 Main Street Schenevus NY 12155 607-638-1924
Milfard Village Clerk 64 South Main Street Milford NY 13807 607-286-7331
Milford Town Clerk 2859 New York 28 Portlandville NY 13834 607-286-9033
Morris Village Clerk 118 West Main Street Morris NY 13808 607-263-5400
New Lisbon Town Hall 908 County Road 16 Garrattsville NY 13342 607-965-2112
New York State Health Department 28 Hill Street Oneonta NY 13820 607-432-3911
Otego Town Hall 3526 New York 7 Otego NY 13825 607-988-2698
Otsego County Clerk 197 Main Street Cooperstown NY 13326 607-547-4202
Otsego Town Clerk 811 County Road 26 Fly Creek NY 13337 607-547-5631
Unadilla Town Clerk 1648 New York 7 Unadilla NY 13849 607-369-4433
Worcester Town Clerk 143 Main Street Worcester NY 12197 607-397-8978
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Otsego County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Otsego County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.