Search for St. Lawrence County NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Brasher Town Clerk 11 Factory Street Brasher Falls NY 13613 315-389-4223
Canton Health Department 58 Gouverneur Street Canton NY 13617 315-386-1040
Colton Town Clerk 94 Main Street Colton NY 13625 315-262-2810
De Kalb Junction Town Clerk 2907 County Road 17 De Kalb Junction NY 13630 315-347-3331
Edwards Town Hall 161 Main Street Edwards NY 13635 315-562-1224
Edwards Village Clerk 161 Main Street Edwards NY 13635 315-562-3704
Fine Town Clerk 4078 New York 3 Star Lake NY 13690 315-848-3121
Hammond Town Hall 17 N Main St Hammond NY 13646 315-324-5321
Hammond Village Clerk 24 South Main Street Hammond NY 13646 315-324-6171
Hopkinton Town Hall 7 Church Street Nicholville NY 12965 315-328-9905
Lawrence Town Clerk 11403 U.s. 11 North Lawrence NY 12967 315-389-4487
Lisbon Town Clerk 6963 County Road 10 Lisbon NY 13658 315-393-5988
Lisbon Town Hall 6963 County Road 10 Lisbon NY 13658 315-393-0489
Macomb Town Hall 6663 New York 58 Gouverneur NY 13642 315-578-2212
Madrid Town Clerk 3529 County Road 14 Madrid NY 13660 315-322-5760
Massena Town Hall 50 Main Street Massena NY 13662 315-769-3525
Morristown Town Clerk 604 Main Street Ogdensburg NY 13669 315-375-6510
Norfolk Town Clerk 5 West Main Street Norfolk NY 13667 315-384-4821
Norwood Village Clerk 11 South Main Street Norwood NY 13668 315-353-2372
Ogdensburg City Hall 330 Ford Street Ogdensburg NY 13669 315-393-6100
Piercefield Town Hall 48 Waller Street Piercefield NY 12973 518-359-7544
Potsdam Town Clerk 18 Elm Street Potsdam NY 13676 315-265-4270
Richville Village Clerk 87 Main Street Richville NY 13681 315-287-0956
Russell Clerk 4 Pestle St Russell NY 13684 315-347-2358
St Lawrence County Clerk 48 Court Street Canton NY 13617 315-539-1700
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in St. Lawrence County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in St. Lawrence County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.