Search for Sullivan County, NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Amite County Clerk 120 North Main Street Liberty NY 12754 845-292-5110
Barryville Town Hall SCHOOL HOUSE Rd Barryville NY 12719 845-557-3489
Bethel Town Clerk 3454 State Route 55 White Lake NY 12786 845-583-4350
Callicoon Town Hall 19 Legion Street Jeffersonville NY 12748 845-482-3252
Cochecton Town Hall 74 Smales Road Lake Huntington NY 12752 845-932-8360
Cochecton Town Hall 116 County Road 116 Cochecton NY 12726 845-932-8360
Delaware Town Hall 104 Main St Hortonville NY 12745 845-887-5250
Denning Town Hall 1567 Denning Road Claryville NY 12725 845-985-2411
Fallsburg Town Clerk 19 Railroad Plaza South Fallsburg NY 12779 845-434-8810
Forestburgh Town Hall 332 King Rd Forestburgh NY 12777 845-794-0679
Highland Town Hall 2 Proctor Road Eldred NY 12732 845-557-6085
Liberty Town Hall 120 North Main Street Liberty NY 12754 845-292-5110
Neversink Town Clerk 7858 New York 42 Grahamsville NY 12740 845-985-7685
Sullivan County Clerk 100 Monticello Street Monticello NY 12701 845-807-0435
Sullivan County Health Department 50 North Street Monticello NY 12701 845-794-2045
Thompson Town Hall 4052 New York 42 Monticello NY 12701 845-794-2500
Wurtsboro Village Clerk 7 Pennsylvania Avenue Wurtsboro NY 12790 845-888-2522
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Sullivan County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Sullivan County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.