Search for Suffolk County, NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Amityville Clerk 21 Ireland Place Amityville NY 11701 631-691-3303
Bellport Village Clerk 29 Bellport Lane Bellport NY 11713 631-286-0327
Brightwaters Village Clerk 40 Seneca Drive Brightwaters NY 11718 631-665-1280
Brookhaven Town Hall 1 Independence Hill Farmingville NY 11738 631-451-7087
East Hampton Town Clerk THE Plz Montauk NY 11954 631-668-5081
East Hampton Town hall 300 Pantigo Place East Hampton NY 11937
Head Of The Harbor Village Clerk 500 New York 25A St. James NY 11780 631-584-5550
Huntington Town Hall 100 Main Street Huntington NY 11743 631-351-3014
Islip Town Hall 655 Main Street Islip NY 11751 631-224-5691
Jo Ann Raia Town Clerk 100 Main Street Huntington NY 11743 631-673-9477
Lindenhurst Clerk 430 South Wellwood Avenue Lindenhurst NY 11757 631-957-7501
Lloyd Harbor Village Clerk 32 Middle Hollow Road Lloyd Harbor NY 11743 631-549-8893
New York State Health Department 320 Carleton Avenue Central Islip NY 11722 631-851-3080
North Haven Village Clerk 335 Ferry Road Sag Harbor NY 11963 631-725-1378
Northport Village Clerk 224 Main Street Northport NY 11768 631-261-7502
Quogue Village Clerk 172 Dune Road Westhampton Beach NY 11978 631-653-4498
Riverhead Town Hall 210 Howell Avenue Riverhead NY 11901 631-727-3200
Shelter Island Town Hall 38 North Ferry Road Shelter Island NY 11964 631-749-0291
Shoreham Town Hall 80 Woodville Road Shoreham NY 11786 631-821-0680
Smithtown Town Hall 99 West Main Street Smithtown NY 11787 631-360-7512
Southampton Town Clerk 25 Ponquogue Avenue Hampton Bays NY 11946 631-723-3820
Southampton Town Hall 116 Hampton Road Southampton NY 11968 631-283-6000
Southampton Village Clerk 23 Main Street Southampton NY 11968 631-283-0247
Southold Town Clerk 53095 Middle Road Southold NY 11971 631-765-1801
Suffolk County Clerk 725 Veterans Memorial Highway Smithtown NY 11787 631-853-4074
Suffolk County Clerk 310 Center Drive South Riverhead NY 11901 631-852-2041
Suffolk County Clerk 400 Carleton Avenue Central Islip NY 11722 631-853-4312
Suffolk County Health Department 3500 Sunrise Highway Great River NY 11739 631-854-0000
Suffolk County Health Department 360 Yaphank Avenue Yaphank NY 11980 631-852-4287
Suffolk Health Department 82 Middle Country Road Coram NY 11727 631-854-2195
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Suffolk County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Suffolk County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.