Search for Franklin County, NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Bangor Town Hall 2438 State Route 11 North Bangor NY 12966 518-483-2749
Burke Town Hall 842 Depot Street Burke NY 12917 518-483-5497
Chateaugay Town Hall 191 East Main Street Chateaugay NY 12920 518-497-6931
Chateaugay Village Clerk 167 East Main Street Chateaugay NY 12920 518-497-3333
Duane Town Clerk 148 Old Meacham Road Malone NY 12953 518-483-1617
Franklin County Clerk 355 West Main Street Malone NY 12953 518-481-1640
Moira Town Clerk 522 County Route 6 Moira NY 12957 518-529-0157
Saranac Lake Health Department 41 Saint Bernard Street Saranac Lake NY 12983 518-891-1800
Vermontville Town Hall 7 Cold Brook Road Vermontville NY 12989 518-891-2189
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Franklin County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Franklin County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.