Search for Cortland County, NY marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Cincinnatus Town Hall S Main Cincinnatus NY 13040 607-863-4220
Cortland County Clerk 60 Central Avenue Cortland NY 13045 607-753-5048
Cortlandville Town Clerk 3577 Terrace Road Cortland NY 13045 607-756-5725
Cuyler Town Clerk 6984 East Keeney Road Truxton NY 13158 607-842-6695
Homer Village Clerk 53 South Main Street Homer NY 13077 607-749-3322
Marathon Town Hall 40 West Main Street Marathon NY 13803 607-849-6966
Preble Town Clerk 1968 Preble Road Preble NY 13141 607-749-3199
Scott Town Hall 6689 New York 41 Homer NY 13077 607-749-2902
Taylor Town Clerk 3299 New York 26 Cincinnatus NY 13040 607-863-3008
Virgil Town Hall 1176 Church Street Cortland NY 13045 607-835-6174
1. Apply where: City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days, or 180 days for military
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New York, both members of the couple must visit a City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You may also begin the paperwork online, but you will have to visit a Clerk's Office to finish the process. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, it is valid after 24 hours, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Cortland County, New York?
You will need to visit the City, Town, or Borough Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You can also begin the application online. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New York?
In New York City, the marriage license fee is $35. Everywhere else in New York, the fee is $40.
How old do you have to be to get married in Cortland County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in New York. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.