Search for North Carolina marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $60
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days with disclosure or less with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in North Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, he or she can submit a sworn and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in North Carolina?
You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Carolina?
It costs $60 to receive a marriage license in North Carolina.
How old do you have to be to get married in North Carolina?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in North Carolina. Individuals who are under the age of 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order, depending on the age.
Can you get married under 18 in North Carolina?
Yes. Minors who are at least 16 years of age can marry with the consent of the custodial parent or the legal guardian. The parent or guardian must provide identification and documentation establishing their relationship with the minor. Minors who are between 14 and 16 must obtain a court order from a Superior Court in order to marry. The minimum age for marriage in North Carolina is 14.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in North Carolina.
Who can legally marry you in North Carolina?
The state of North Carolina authorizes certain individuals to serve as wedding officiants. Officiants can be ordained religious authorities or government officials, such as a magistrate. Ministers, priests, and other clergy do not need to receive any special license to perform weddings in North Carolina.
Do you need a witness to get married?
Yes. In North Carolina, two witnesses over the age of 18 must be present at the marriage ceremony. These witnesses must sign the marriage license, along with the officiant and the couple.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in North Carolina?
There is no waiting period to get a marriage license. However, you must get married before your marriage license expires. The marriage license is valid for 60 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your North Carolina marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In North Carolina, you must disclose all previous marriages on the marriage license application, including the date that the marriage ended. If your divorce was finalized less than 30 days before applying for a new marriage license, you must prove that the prior marriage ended with an official divorce decree.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in North Carolina.
Is same-sex marriage legal in North Carolina?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in North Carolina.
Can you marry your cousin?
Yes. It is legal to marry your first cousin in North Carolina. However, double first cousins are not permitted to marry each other.
Is North Carolina a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of North Carolina.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the North Carolina state or county government, the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.