Mecklenburg County Marriage Licenses

Search for Mecklenburg County NC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Mecklenburg County Marriage License 720 East 4th Street Charlotte NC 28202 704-336-2443


Charlotte City Hall 600 East Trade Street Charlotte NC 28202 704-336-2903

Cornelius Town Hall 21445 Catawba Avenue Cornelius NC 28031 704-892-6031

Davidson Town Hall 216 South Main Street Davidson NC 28036 704-892-7591

Matthews City Hall 232 Matthews Station Street Matthews NC 28105 704-847-4411

Matthews Town Hall 232 Matthews Station Street Matthews NC 28105 704-847-4411

Mecklenburg County Clerk 600 East 4th Street Charlotte NC 28202 704-336-2472

Mecklenburg County Health Department 13001 Old Statesville Road Huntersville NC 28078 704-875-9061

Mecklenburg County Health Department 5516 Central Avenue Charlotte NC 28212 704-537-7926

Mint Hill Town Hall 7151 Matthews-Mint Hill Road Mint Hill NC 28227 704-545-9726

Pineville Town Hall 200 Dover Street Pineville NC 28134 704-889-2291

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $60

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 60 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days with disclosure or less with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Mecklenburg County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in North Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, he or she can submit a sworn and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Mecklenburg County, North Carolina?

You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Carolina?

It costs $60 to receive a marriage license in North Carolina.

How old do you have to be to get married in Mecklenburg County?

You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in North Carolina. Individuals who are under the age of 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order, depending on the age.