Search for Halifax County, NC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Halifax County Marriage License Court Services Building, 357 Ferrell Lane Halifax NC 27839 252-583-2101
Enfield City Town Clerk 105 Southeast Railroad Street Enfield NC 27823 252-445-3146
Enfield Town Hall 105 SE Railroad St Enfield NC 27823 252-445-3146
Halifax County Clerk PO Box 38 Halifax NC 27839 252-583-1131
Halifax County Health Department 19 Dobbs Street Halifax NC 27839 252-583-5021
Halifax County Health Department 116 S McDaniel St Enfield NC 27823 252-445-2161
Halifax Town Hall 24 King Street Halifax NC 27839 252-583-6571
Hobgood Clerk 207 East Commerce Street Hobgood NC 27843 252-826-4573
Littleton Town Hall 117 East South Main Street Littleton NC 27850 252-586-2709
Roanoke Rapids City Hall 1040 Roanoke Avenue Roanoke Rapids NC 27870 252-535-2031
Weldon City Clerk 109 Washington Avenue Weldon NC 27890 252-536-4836
1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $60
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days with disclosure or less with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in North Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, he or she can submit a sworn and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Halifax County, North Carolina?
You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Carolina?
It costs $60 to receive a marriage license in North Carolina.
How old do you have to be to get married in Halifax County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in North Carolina. Individuals who are under the age of 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order, depending on the age.