Union County Marriage Licenses

Search for Union County NC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Union County Marriage License Union County Government Center, 500 N. Main Street, 2Nd Floor Monroe NC 28111 704-283-3727


Fairfield Town Hall 7402 Concord Highway Monroe NC 28110 704-753-1981

Hemby Bridge Town Hall 6010 Mill Grove Road Indian Trail NC 28079 704-882-3940

Indian Trail Town Hall 100 Navajo Trl Indian Trail NC 28079 704-821-8114

Marshville Town Clerk 201 W Main St Marshville NC 28103 704-624-2515

Monroe City Hall 300 West Crowell Street Monroe NC 28112 704-282-4500

Stallings Town Hall 315 Stallings Road Stallings NC 28104 704-821-8557

Union County Clerk 500 North Main Street Monroe NC 28112 704-283-3656

Union County Health Department 1224 West Roosevelt Boulevard Monroe NC 28110 704-296-4800

Waxhaw City Hall 317 North Broome Street Waxhaw NC 28173 704-843-2195

Weddington Town Hall 1924 Monroe-Weddington Road Weddington NC 28104 704-846-2709

Wingate Town Hall 3918 U.s. 74 Wingate NC 28174 704-233-4411

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $60

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 60 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days with disclosure or less with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Union County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in North Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, he or she can submit a sworn and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Union County, North Carolina?

You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Carolina?

It costs $60 to receive a marriage license in North Carolina.

How old do you have to be to get married in Union County?

You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in North Carolina. Individuals who are under the age of 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order, depending on the age.