Search for Johnston County, NC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Johnston County Marriage License Johnston County Courthouse, 207 East Johnston Street, Suite 209 Smithfield NC 27577 919-989-5160
Benson Town Clerk 303 East Church Street Benson NC 27504 919-894-3553
Benson Town Hall 303 East Church Street Benson NC 27504
Clayton Town Hall 111 East 2nd Street Clayton NC 27520 919-553-5002
Four Oaks Town Clerk 304 South Main Street Four Oaks NC 27524 919-963-3112
Johnston County Clerk PO Box 1049 Smithfield NC 27577 919-989-5100
Johnston County Health Department 340 McCullers Street Clayton NC 27520 919-550-2198
Johnston County Health Department - Bowen T Brown Pa 517 North Brightleaf Boulevard Smithfield NC 27577 919-989-5226
Pine Level Town Hall 306 Brown St Pine Level NC 27568 919-965-2284
Pine Level Town Hall 214 North Peedin Avenue Pine Level NC 27568 919-965-2284
Selma Town Hall 100 North Raiford Street Selma NC 27576 919-965-9841
Smithfield Town Hall 350 East Market Street Smithfield NC 27577 919-934-2116
Wilson's Mills Town Hall 101 N Railroad St Smithfield NC 27577 919-938-3885
1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $60
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days with disclosure or less with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in North Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, he or she can submit a sworn and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Johnston County, North Carolina?
You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Carolina?
It costs $60 to receive a marriage license in North Carolina.
How old do you have to be to get married in Johnston County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in North Carolina. Individuals who are under the age of 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order, depending on the age.