Guilford County Marriage Licenses

Search for Guilford County NC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Guilford County Marriage License Guilford County Courthouse, 201 S. Eugene Street, Room Lg-53 Greensboro NC 27402 336-641-7556


Gibsonville Town Hall 129 West Main Street Gibsonville NC 27249 336-449-7926

Greensboro Town Hall 300 West Washington Street Greensboro NC 27401 336-373-2489

Guilford County Clerk 201 South Eugene Street Greensboro NC 27401 336-412-7333

Guilford County Clerk PO Box 3427 Greensboro NC 27402 336-641-5532

Guilford County Health Department 501 East Green Drive High Point NC 27260 336-641-7990

Guilford County Health Department 1100 Wendover Avenue East Greensboro NC 27405 336-641-7777

High Point City Hall 211 South Hamilton Street High Point NC 27260 336-883-3289

Oak Ridge Town Hall 8315 Linville Road Oak Ridge NC 27310 336-644-7009

Sedalia Town Hall 6121 Burlington Road Gibsonville NC 27249 336-449-1132

Stokesdale Town Hall 8325 Angel-Pardue Road Stokesdale NC 27357 336-643-4011

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $60

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 60 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days with disclosure or less with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Guilford County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in North Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, he or she can submit a sworn and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Guilford County, North Carolina?

You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Carolina?

It costs $60 to receive a marriage license in North Carolina.

How old do you have to be to get married in Guilford County?

You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in North Carolina. Individuals who are under the age of 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order, depending on the age.