Forsyth County Marriage Licenses

Search for Forsyth County NC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Forsyth County Marriage License 108 Dundee Street Winston-Salem NC 27101 336-703-2700


Guilford County Marriage License Register Of Deeds Satellite Office, 325 East Russell Avenue, Room 155 High Point NC 27261 336-845-6935

Clemmons Town Hall 3715 Clemmons Road Clemmons NC 27012 336-766-7511

Forsyth County Clerk 201 North Chestnut Street Winston-Salem NC 27101 336-703-2020

Forsyth County Health Department 799 North Highland Avenue Winston-Salem NC 27101 336-703-3210

Kernersville Town Clerk 134 East Mountain Street Kernersville NC 27284 336-992-0404

Kernersville Town Hall 134 East Mountain Street Kernersville NC 27284 336-996-3121

Lewisville Town Hall 6550 Shallowford Road Lewisville NC 27023 336-945-5558

Rural Hall Town Hall 423 Bethania-Rural Hall Road Rural Hall NC 27045 336-969-6856

Walkertown Town Hall 5177 Main Street Walkertown NC 27051 336-595-4212

Winston Salem City Hall 101 North Main Street Winston-Salem NC 27101 336-727-8000

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $60

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 60 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days with disclosure or less with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Forsyth County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in North Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, he or she can submit a sworn and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Forsyth County, North Carolina?

You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Carolina?

It costs $60 to receive a marriage license in North Carolina.

How old do you have to be to get married in Forsyth County?

You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in North Carolina. Individuals who are under the age of 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order, depending on the age.