Search for Orange County, NC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Orange County Marriage License 228 South Churton Street Hillsborough NC 27278 919-245-2675
Carrboro Town Clerk 301 West Main Street Carrboro NC 27510 919-918-7309
Carrboro Town Hall 301 West Main Street Carrboro NC 27510 919-942-8541
Chapel Hill Town Hall 405 Martin luther King Junior Boulevard Chapel Hill NC 27514 919-968-2718
Hillsborough Town Clerk 101 East Orange Street Hillsborough NC 27278 919-732-1270
Hillsborough Town Hall 137 North Churton Street Hillsborough NC 27278 919-732-2104
Orange County Clerk PO Box 8181 Hillsborough NC 27278 919-245-2130
Orange County Clerk 179 East Franklin Street Chapel Hill NC 27514 919-967-4523
Orange County Health Department 300 West Tryon Street Hillsborough NC 27278 919-245-2400
Orange County Health Department 2501 Homestead Road Chapel Hill NC 27516 919-968-2022
1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $60
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days with disclosure or less with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in North Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, he or she can submit a sworn and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Orange County, North Carolina?
You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Carolina?
It costs $60 to receive a marriage license in North Carolina.
How old do you have to be to get married in Orange County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in North Carolina. Individuals who are under the age of 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order, depending on the age.