Search for Carteret County, NC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Carteret County Marriage License 302 Courthouse Square Beaufort NC 28516 252-728-8474
Beaufort Town Hall 215 Pollock Street Beaufort NC 28516 252-728-2141
Cape Carteret Town Hall 102 Dolphin Street Cape Carteret NC 28584 252-393-8483
Carteret County Clerk 302 Court House Square Beaufort NC 28516 252-728-8580
Carteret County Health Department 3820 Bridges Street Morehead City NC 28557 252-728-8585
Cedar Point Town Hall 427 Sherwood Avenue Cedar Point NC 28584 252-393-7898
Cedar Point Town Hall 130 Moss Ln Cape Carteret NC 28584 252-393-2753
Indian Beach Town Hall 1400 Salter Path Road Salter Path NC 28575 252-247-3344
Newport Town Hall 200 Howard Boulevard Newport NC 28570 252-223-4749
Pine Knoll Shores Town Hall 100 Municipal Circle Pine Knoll Shores NC 28512 252-247-4353
1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $60
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days with disclosure or less with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in North Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, he or she can submit a sworn and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Carteret County, North Carolina?
You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Carolina?
It costs $60 to receive a marriage license in North Carolina.
How old do you have to be to get married in Carteret County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in North Carolina. Individuals who are under the age of 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order, depending on the age.