Dare County Marriage Licenses

List of Dare County Marriage Licenses

Search for Dare County, NC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.

Dare County Marriage License Dare County Justice Center, 1St Floor, 962 Marshall C. Collins Dr. Manteo NC 27954 252-475-5970

Buxton Health Department 47017 Buxton Back Road Buxton NC 27953 252-995-4404

Dare County Clerk PO Box 1000 Manteo NC 27954 252-475-5700

Dare County Health Department 954 Marshall C Collins Drive Manteo NC 27954 252-475-5820

Manteo Town Hall 407 BUDLEIGH St Manteo NC 27954 252-473-2133

Nags Head Town Hall 5401 South Croatan Highway Nags Head NC 27959 252-441-5508

Southern Shores Town Hall 6 Skyline Road Southern Shores NC 27949 252-261-2394

About Marriage Licenses

Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $60

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 60 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days with disclosure or less with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Dare County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in North Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, he or she can submit a sworn and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Dare County, North Carolina?

You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Carolina?

It costs $60 to receive a marriage license in North Carolina.

How old do you have to be to get married in Dare County?

You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in North Carolina. Individuals who are under the age of 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order, depending on the age.