Search for New Hanover County NC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
New Hanover County Marriage License 216 N. 2Nd Street Wilmington NC 28401 910-798-4530
Carolina Beach Town Clerk 1121 North Lake Park Boulevard Carolina Beach NC 28428 910-458-2993
Carolina Beach Town Hall 1121 North Lake Park Boulevard Carolina Beach NC 28428 910-458-2999
Kure Beach Town Clerk 117 Settlers Lane Kure Beach NC 28449 910-458-8216
New Hanover County Clerk 230 Government Center Drive Wilmington NC 28403 910-798-7149
New Hanover County Clerk 316 Princess Street Wilmington NC 28401 910-341-1111
Wrightsville Beach Town Hall 321 Causeway Dr Wrightsville Beach NC 28480 910-256-7900
1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $60
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days with disclosure or less with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in North Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, he or she can submit a sworn and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in New Hanover County, North Carolina?
You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Carolina?
It costs $60 to receive a marriage license in North Carolina.
How old do you have to be to get married in New Hanover County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in North Carolina. Individuals who are under the age of 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order, depending on the age.