Davidson County Marriage Licenses

Search for Davidson County NC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Davidson County Marriage License 203 West 2nd Street Lexington NC 27292


Davidson County Clerk PO Box 1067 Lexington NC 27293 336-242-2202

Davidson County Clerk 110 West Center Street Lexington NC 27292 336-242-6700

Davidson County Health Department # 301, 915 N Greensboro St Lexington NC 27292 336-242-2300

Davidson County Health Department 203 Old Lexington Road Thomasville NC 27360 336-474-2780

Denton Town Hall 201 West Salisbury Street Denton NC 27239 336-859-4231

Lexington City Hall 28 W Center St Lexington NC 27292 336-243-2489

Thomasville City Clerk 10 Salem Street Thomasville NC 27360 336-475-4214

Thomasville City Hall 10 Salem Street Thomasville NC 27360 336-475-4210

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $60

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 60 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days with disclosure or less with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Davidson County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in North Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, he or she can submit a sworn and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Davidson County, North Carolina?

You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Carolina?

It costs $60 to receive a marriage license in North Carolina.

How old do you have to be to get married in Davidson County?

You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in North Carolina. Individuals who are under the age of 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order, depending on the age.