Brunswick County Marriage Licenses

Search for Brunswick County NC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Bald Head Island Town Hall 106 Lighthouse Wynd Bald Head Island NC 28461 910-457-9700


Belville Town Hall 497 Olde Waterford Way Leland NC 28451 910-371-2456

Bolivia Town Hall 4050 U.S. 17 Business Bolivia NC 28422 910-253-5303

Brunswick County Clerk PO Box 249 Bolivia NC 28422 910-253-2017

Brunswick County Health Department 25 Courthouse Dr Bolivia NC 28422 910-253-2250

Calabash Town Clerk 882 Persimmon Road Southwest Calabash NC 28467 910-579-6747

Caswell Beach Town Hall 1100 Caswell Beach Road Caswell Beach NC 28465 910-278-5471

Holden Beach Town Hall 110 Rothschild Street Holden Beach NC 28462 910-842-6488

Leland Town Hall 102 Town Hall Drive Leland NC 28451 910-371-1100

Navassa Town Hall 334 Main Street Navassa NC 28451 910-371-2432

Oak Island Town Hall 4601 East Oak Island Drive Oak Island NC 28465 910-278-5011

Ocean Isle Beach Town Hall 3 West 3rd Street Ocean Isle Beach NC 28469 910-579-2166

Sandy Creek Town Hall 114 Sandy Creek Drive Leland NC 28451 910-655-3153

Shallotte Town Hall 106 Cheers Street Shallotte NC 28470 910-754-4032

Southport City Hall 1029 North Howe Street Southport NC 28461 910-457-7905

Sunset Beach Town Hall 700 Sunset Blvd N Sunset Beach NC 28468 910-579-6297

Sunset Beach Town Hall 600 Pine View Drive Sunset Beach NC 28468 910-579-3808

Varnamtown Town Hall 100 Varnamtown Road Southwest Varnamtown NC 28462 910-842-3095

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $60

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 60 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days with disclosure or less with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Brunswick County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in North Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, he or she can submit a sworn and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Brunswick County, North Carolina?

You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Carolina?

It costs $60 to receive a marriage license in North Carolina.

How old do you have to be to get married in Brunswick County?

You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in North Carolina. Individuals who are under the age of 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order, depending on the age.