Pitt County Marriage Licenses

Search for Pitt County NC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Pitt County Marriage License Pitt County Courthouse, West Third Street, Room Lg-53 Greenville NC 27835 252-902-1650


Ayden Town Clerk 4144 North West Avenue Ayden NC 28513 252-746-7040

Ayden Town Hall 4144 North West Avenue Ayden NC 28513 252-481-5826

Bethel Town Hall 141 West Railroad Street Bethel NC 27812 252-825-6191

Farmville Town Hall 3672 North Main Street Farmville NC 27828 252-753-5116

Greenville City Hall 200 West 5th Street Greenville NC 27858 252-329-4432

Grimesland Town Hall 7592 Pitt Street Grimesland NC 27837 252-752-6337

Pitt County Clerk 100 West 3rd Street Greenville NC 27858 252-830-6400

Pitt County Clerk 1717 West 5th Street Greenville NC 27834 252-902-2951

Pitt County Health Department 201 Government Circle Greenville NC 27834 252-902-2300

Winterville Town Hall 2571 Railroad Street Winterville NC 28590 252-756-2221

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $60

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 60 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days with disclosure or less with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Pitt County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in North Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, he or she can submit a sworn and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Pitt County, North Carolina?

You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Carolina?

It costs $60 to receive a marriage license in North Carolina.

How old do you have to be to get married in Pitt County?

You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in North Carolina. Individuals who are under the age of 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order, depending on the age.