Search for Gaston County, NC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Gaston County Marriage License Gaston County Courthouse, 1St Floor, 325 N. Marietta Street Gastonia NC 28052 704-862-7681
Belmont City Hall 115 North Main Street Belmont NC 28012 704-825-5586
Bessemer City Hall 132 West Virginia Avenue Bessemer NC 28016 704-629-5542
Cherryville City Clerk 116 South Mountain Street Cherryville NC 28021 704-435-1702
Cramerton Town Hall 155 North Main Street Cramerton NC 28032 704-824-4337
Gaston County Commissioner 128 West Main Avenue Gastonia NC 28052 704-866-3196
Gaston County Health Department 991 West Hudson Boulevard Gastonia NC 28052 704-853-5000
Gastonia City Hall 181 South South Street Gastonia NC 28052 704-866-6894
Gastonia Town Hall 1624 Spencer Mountain Road Gastonia NC 28054 704-824-3461
High Shoals City Clerk 101 Thompkins St High Shoals NC 28077 704-735-1651
Mount Holly City Hall 131 South Main Street Mount Holly NC 28120 704-951-3006
Mt Holly City Hall 131 South Main Street Mount Holly NC 28120 704-827-3943
North Carolina State Clerk 325 South Marietta Street Gastonia NC 28052 704-866-3007
Stanley City Hall 114 South Main Street Stanley NC 28164 704-263-4779
Stanley Town Hall 224 South Main Street Stanley NC 28164 704-263-4778
1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $60
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days with disclosure or less with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in North Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, he or she can submit a sworn and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Gaston County, North Carolina?
You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Carolina?
It costs $60 to receive a marriage license in North Carolina.
How old do you have to be to get married in Gaston County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in North Carolina. Individuals who are under the age of 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order, depending on the age.