Search for Wake County, NC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Wake County Marriage License Wake County Justice Center, 300 S. Salisbury St., Suite 1700 Raleigh NC 27601 919-856-5460
Apex Town Hall 73 Hunter Street Apex NC 27502 919-249-3303
Cary Town Hall 316 North Academy Street Cary NC 27513 919-469-4000
Fuquay-Varina Town Hall 401 Old Honeycutt Road Fuquay-Varina NC 27526 919-552-1400
Garner Clerk 900 7th Avenue Garner NC 27529 919-773-4406
Garner Town Hall 900 7th Ave Garner NC 27529 919-772-4688
Holly Springs Town Clerk 128 South Main Street Holly Springs NC 27540 919-557-3900
Holly Springs Town Hall 128 S Main St Holly Springs NC 27540 919-552-6221
Knightdale Town Hall 950 Steeple Square Court Knightdale NC 27545 919-217-2212
Morrisville Town Clerk 100 Town Hall Drive Morrisville NC 27560 919-463-6151
Morrisville Town Hall 100 Town Hall Drive Morrisville NC 27560 919-463-6200
North Carolina Health Department 225 North Mc Dowell Street Raleigh NC 27603 919-733-3056
North Carolina State Clerk 2 East Morgan Street Raleigh NC 27601 919-831-5700
Rolesville Town Hall 502 Southtown Circle Rolesville NC 27571 919-556-3506
Wake County Clerk PO Box 550 Raleigh NC 27602 919-856-5565
Wake County Health Department 10 Sunnybrook Road Raleigh NC 27610 919-250-4720
Wake Forest Town Clerk 401 Elm Avenue Wake Forest NC 27587 919-554-6190
Wake Forest Town Hall 301 Brooks Street Wake Forest NC 27587 919-435-9400
Zebulon Town Hall 1101 North Arendell Avenue Zebulon NC 27597 919-269-7455
1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $60
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days with disclosure or less with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in North Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, he or she can submit a sworn and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Wake County, North Carolina?
You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Carolina?
It costs $60 to receive a marriage license in North Carolina.
How old do you have to be to get married in Wake County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in North Carolina. Individuals who are under the age of 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order, depending on the age.