Watauga County Marriage Licenses

Search for Watauga County NC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Watauga County Marriage License 842 West King Street, Courthouse-Room 119 Boone NC 28607 828-265-8034


Blowing Rock Town Hall 1036 Main Street Blowing Rock NC 28605 828-295-5200

Boone City Hall 567 W King St Boone NC 28607 828-262-4530

North Carolina State Clerk 842 West King Street Boone NC 28607 828-268-6600

Seven Devils Town Hall 1356 7 Devils Road Seven Devils NC 28604 828-963-5343

Watauga County Clerk 814 West King Street Boone NC 28607 828-265-8000

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $60

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 60 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days with disclosure or less with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Watauga County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in North Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, he or she can submit a sworn and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Watauga County, North Carolina?

You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Carolina?

It costs $60 to receive a marriage license in North Carolina.

How old do you have to be to get married in Watauga County?

You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in North Carolina. Individuals who are under the age of 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order, depending on the age.