Avery County Marriage Licenses

Search for Avery County NC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Avery County Marriage License 200 Montezuma Street Newland NC 28657 828-733-8260


Avery County Clerk PO Box 640 Newland NC 28657 828-733-8212

Banner Elk Town Hall 200 Park Avenue Banner Elk NC 28604 828-898-5398

Beech Mountain Town Hall 403 Beech Mountain Parkway Beech Mountain NC 28604 828-387-4236

Crossnore Town Clerk 1 Fountain Circle Crossnore NC 28616 828-733-0360

Elk Park City Hall 169 Winters Street Elk Park NC 28622 828-733-9573

Newland Town Hall 301 Cranberry Street Newland NC 28657 828-733-2023

Sugar Mountain Village Town Hall 237 Dick Trundy Lane Sugar Mountain NC 28604 828-898-9292

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $60

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 60 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days with disclosure or less with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Avery County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in North Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, he or she can submit a sworn and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Avery County, North Carolina?

You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Carolina?

It costs $60 to receive a marriage license in North Carolina.

How old do you have to be to get married in Avery County?

You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in North Carolina. Individuals who are under the age of 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order, depending on the age.