Search for Catawba County, NC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Catawba County Marriage License 100 Southwest Boulevard Newton NC 28658 828-465-1573
Brookford Town Hall 1700 South Center Street Hickory NC 28602 828-322-4903
Catawba County Clerk PO Box 389 Newton NC 28658 828-465-8392
Catawba Town Hall 102 1st Street Northwest Catawba NC 28609 828-241-2215
Claremont City Hall 3288 E Main St Claremont NC 28610 828-459-7009
Hickory City Clerk 76 North Center Street Hickory NC 28601 828-323-7413
Hickory City Hall 76 North Center Street Hickory NC 28601 828-323-7412
Maiden Town Clerk 19 North Main Avenue Maiden NC 28650 828-428-5010
Maiden Town Hall 113 West Main Street Maiden NC 28650 828-428-5000
Newton City Hall 401 North Main Avenue Newton NC 28658 828-465-7400
1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $60
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days with disclosure or less with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in North Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, he or she can submit a sworn and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Catawba County, North Carolina?
You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Carolina?
It costs $60 to receive a marriage license in North Carolina.
How old do you have to be to get married in Catawba County?
You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in North Carolina. Individuals who are under the age of 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order, depending on the age.