Cleveland County Marriage Licenses

Search for Cleveland County NC marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Cleveland County Marriage License 311 East Marion Street Shelby NC 28150 704-484-4834


Boiling Springs Town Hall 145 South Main Street Shelby NC 28152 704-434-9419

Casar Town Hall 137 Deviney Street Casar NC 28020 704-538-1099

Cleveland County Clerk PO Box 1210 Shelby NC 28151 704-484-4800

Cleveland County Health Department 500 Phifer Road Kings Mountain NC 28086 704-730-8694

Grover Town Hall 207 Mulberry Road Grover NC 28073 704-937-9250

Kings Mountain City Hall 101 West Gold Street Kings Mountain NC 28086 704-734-0333

Kingston Town Hall 2014 Kingston Road Kingstown NC 28150 704-484-9776

Lattimore Town Hall 120 Cherry Street Shelby NC 28150 704-434-2620

Lawndale Town Hall 203 Shelby Road Lawndale NC 28090 704-538-3147

Mooresboro Town Hall 308 West Main Street Mooresboro NC 28114 704-434-5666

Shelby City Hall 300 South Washington Street Shelby NC 28150 704-484-6801

Waco Town Hall 222 Black St Waco NC 28169 704-435-3923

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and 14 with court order

3. Cost/fees: $60

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 60 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days with disclosure or less with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Cleveland County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in North Carolina, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. If one member of the couple is unable to attend, he or she can submit a sworn and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.

How do I get a marriage license in Cleveland County, North Carolina?

You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Carolina?

It costs $60 to receive a marriage license in North Carolina.

How old do you have to be to get married in Cleveland County?

You must reach the minimum age of 14 to get married in North Carolina. Individuals who are under the age of 18 are required to have parental consent or a court order, depending on the age.