Search for Illinois marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $30-$50
4. Identification: State-issued photo identification and a birth certificate
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 50
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation if within 6 weeks
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Illinois, both members of the couple must visit a marriage license agent at the County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the paperwork, you will have to wait 24 hours for the marriage license to be valid. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the county authorities. You will then be able to file to receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Illinois?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age and identification, and pay a fee. It takes 24 hours for the license to be valid.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Illinois?
A marriage license can cost between $30 and $50 in Illinois, depending on the county. The fee must be paid in cash.
How old do you have to be to get married in Illinois?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Illinois. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.
Can you get married under 18 in Illinois?
Yes. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 can get married if they obtain the consent of their parents or guardians. Parental consent must be presented to the marriage license official in the form of a signed affidavit.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Illinois.
Who can legally marry you in Illinois?
In Illinois, wedding officiants must be officially recognized by the state. Officiants can be either religious authorities or government officials, including judges and circuit clerks.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The state of Illinois does not require witnesses for a marriage.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Illinois?
There is a 24 hour waiting period before a marriage license is valid in Illinois. You must get married before your marriage license expires. The marriage license is valid for 60 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Illinois marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
Individuals who have prior marriages must disclose the date any previous marriages ended, the county which officially recorded the marriage's end, and the reason for the end of the marriage. If the marriage ended less than six weeks from submitting a marriage license application, you will be required to provide an official divorce decree or death certificate before receiving a new marriage license.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Illinois.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Illinois?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Illinois.
Can you marry your cousin?
Yes. It is legal to marry your first cousin in Illinois, but only if both members of the couple are over the age of 50.
Is Illinois a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of Illinois.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Illinois state or county government, the Illinois Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.