Search for Macoupin County, IL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Macoupin County Marriage License 201 East Main Street Carlinville IL 62626 217-854-3214
Benld City Hall 201 East Central Avenue Benld IL 62009 217-835-2114
Chesterfield Town Hall 115 West Depot Street Chesterfield IL 62630 618-753-3558
Gillespie City Clerk 115 North Macoupin Street Gillespie IL 62033 217-839-2919
Gillespie City Hall 115 North Macoupin Street Gillespie IL 62033 217-839-2919
Girard City Clerk 111 West Madison Street Girard IL 62640 217-627-3512
Macoupin City Health Department 112 South Macoupin Street Gillespie IL 62033 217-839-2350
Macoupin County Clerk 201 East Main Street Carlinville IL 62626 217-854-3214
Macoupin County Health Department 805 North Broad Street Carlinville IL 62626 217-854-3223
Macoupin County Health Department 202 West Center Street Girard IL 62640 217-627-2122
Medora Town Hall 202 West Locust Street Medora IL 62063 618-729-3845
Mount Olive City Hall 200 East Main Street Mount Olive IL 62069 217-999-4261
Shipman Town Hall 100 East 1st Street Shipman IL 62685 618-836-7114
Staunton City Hall 304 West Main Street Staunton IL 62088 618-635-2387
Staunton Clerk 304 West Main Street Staunton IL 62088 618-635-2233
Virden City Clerk 101 West Jackson Street Virden IL 62690 217-965-5805
Virden City Hall 101 West Jackson Street Virden IL 62690 217-965-5805
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $30-$50
4. Identification: State-issued photo identification and a birth certificate
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 50
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation if within 6 weeks
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Illinois, both members of the couple must visit a marriage license agent at the County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the paperwork, you will have to wait 24 hours for the marriage license to be valid. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the county authorities. You will then be able to file to receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Macoupin County, Illinois?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age and identification, and pay a fee. It takes 24 hours for the license to be valid.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Illinois?
A marriage license can cost between $30 and $50 in Illinois, depending on the county. The fee must be paid in cash.
How old do you have to be to get married in Macoupin County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Illinois. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.