Search for Mercer County, IL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Mercer County Marriage License Po Box 66 Aledo IL 61231 309-582-7021
Aledo City Hall 120 North College Avenue Aledo IL 61231 309-582-2332
Joy City Clerk 200 West Main Street Joy IL 61260 309-584-4127
Joy City Hall 200 West Main Street Joy IL 61260 309-584-4127
Mercer County Clerk PO Box 66 Aledo IL 61231 309-582-7021
Mercer County Health Department 305 Northwest 7th Street Aledo IL 61231 309-582-3759
New Boston City Hall 405 Main Street New Boston IL 61272 309-587-8181
Reynolds City Hall 222 W Main St Reynolds IL 61279 309-372-4600
Seaton Town Hall 201 Maple Street Seaton IL 61476 309-586-5341
Sherrard City Hall 517 3rd Street Sherrard IL 61281 309-593-2415
Sherrard Village Clerk 517 3rd Street Sherrard IL 61281 309-593-2415
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $30-$50
4. Identification: State-issued photo identification and a birth certificate
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 50
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation if within 6 weeks
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Illinois, both members of the couple must visit a marriage license agent at the County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the paperwork, you will have to wait 24 hours for the marriage license to be valid. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the county authorities. You will then be able to file to receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Mercer County, Illinois?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age and identification, and pay a fee. It takes 24 hours for the license to be valid.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Illinois?
A marriage license can cost between $30 and $50 in Illinois, depending on the county. The fee must be paid in cash.
How old do you have to be to get married in Mercer County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Illinois. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.