Search for Douglas County, IL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Douglas County Marriage License 401 South Center Street Tuscola IL 61953 217-253-2411
Arcola City Hall 114 North Locust Street Arcola IL 61910 217-268-4966
Arthur Deputy Clerk 120 East Progress Street Arthur IL 61911 217-543-2927
Atwood Village Clerk 117 Central Avenue Atwood IL 61913 217-578-2512
Douglas County Clerk PO Box 467 Tuscola IL 61953 217-253-2411
Douglas County Health Department 1250 U.s. 36 Tuscola IL 61953 217-253-4137
Douglas County Health Department 113 N Collins St Arcola IL 61910 217-268-3555
Hindsboro City Hall 402 Missouri Street Hindsboro IL 61930 217-346-3233
Newman City Hall 100 South King Street Newman IL 61942 217-837-2312
Tuscola City Hall 214 North Main Street Tuscola IL 61953 217-253-2112
Villa Grove City Hall 612 Front Street Villa Grove IL 61956 217-832-4721
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $30-$50
4. Identification: State-issued photo identification and a birth certificate
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 50
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation if within 6 weeks
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Illinois, both members of the couple must visit a marriage license agent at the County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the paperwork, you will have to wait 24 hours for the marriage license to be valid. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the county authorities. You will then be able to file to receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Douglas County, Illinois?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age and identification, and pay a fee. It takes 24 hours for the license to be valid.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Illinois?
A marriage license can cost between $30 and $50 in Illinois, depending on the county. The fee must be paid in cash.
How old do you have to be to get married in Douglas County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Illinois. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.