Search for Winnebago County, IL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Cherry Valley Village Clerk 806 East State Street Cherry Valley IL 61016 815-332-3441
Durand City Hall 308 W Main St Durand IL 61024 815-248-2606
Loves Park City Clerk 100 Heart Boulevard Loves Park IL 61111 815-654-5034
Loves Park City Hall 100 Heart Boulevard Loves Park IL 61111 815-654-5034
Pecatonica City Clerk 111 West 3rd Street Pecatonica IL 61063 815-239-2310
Rockford City Hall 425 East State Street Rockford IL 61104 815-987-5546
Rockford Township Town Clerk 119 North Church Street Rockford IL 61101 815-962-8855
Roscoe Village Clerk 10595 Main Street Roscoe IL 61073 815-623-2829
South Beloit City Hall 519 Blackhawk Boulevard South Beloit IL 61080 815-389-3023
Winnebago County Clerk 404 Elm Street Rockford IL 61101 815-319-4250
Winnebago County Health Department 401 Division Street Rockford IL 61104 815-720-4000
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $30-$50
4. Identification: State-issued photo identification and a birth certificate
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 50
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation if within 6 weeks
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Illinois, both members of the couple must visit a marriage license agent at the County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the paperwork, you will have to wait 24 hours for the marriage license to be valid. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the county authorities. You will then be able to file to receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Winnebago County, Illinois?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age and identification, and pay a fee. It takes 24 hours for the license to be valid.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Illinois?
A marriage license can cost between $30 and $50 in Illinois, depending on the county. The fee must be paid in cash.
How old do you have to be to get married in Winnebago County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Illinois. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.