Search for DeKalb County, IL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
DeKalb County Marriage License 110 East Sycamore Street Sycamore IL 60178 815-895-7149
Cortland Town Clerk 59 South Somonauk Road Cortland IL 60112 815-756-9041
Cortland Town Hall 59 South Somonauk Road Cortland IL 60112 815-756-3030
DeKalb County Health Department 2550 North Annie Glidden Road DeKalb IL 60115 815-758-6673
Dekalb County Clerk 110 East Sycamore Street Sycamore IL 60178 815-895-7146
Genoa City Hall 333 East 1st Street Genoa IL 60135 815-784-2327
Kirkland City Clerk 511 Main Street Kirkland IL 60146 815-522-6179
Sandwich City Clerk 144 East Railroad Street Sandwich IL 60548 815-786-9321
Sandwich City Hall 144 East Railroad Street Sandwich IL 60548 815-786-8802
Waterman City Hall 215 West Adams Street Waterman IL 60556 815-264-3652
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $30-$50
4. Identification: State-issued photo identification and a birth certificate
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 50
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation if within 6 weeks
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Illinois, both members of the couple must visit a marriage license agent at the County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the paperwork, you will have to wait 24 hours for the marriage license to be valid. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the county authorities. You will then be able to file to receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in DeKalb County, Illinois?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age and identification, and pay a fee. It takes 24 hours for the license to be valid.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Illinois?
A marriage license can cost between $30 and $50 in Illinois, depending on the county. The fee must be paid in cash.
How old do you have to be to get married in DeKalb County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Illinois. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.