Search for Kane County, IL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Kane County Marriage License 719 South Batavia Avenue Geneva IL 60134 630-232-5950
Aurora City Clerk 44 East Downer Place Aurora IL 60505 630-256-3070
Aurora City Hall 44 East Downer Place Aurora IL 60505 630-892-8811
Batavia City Hall 100 North Island Avenue Batavia IL 60510 630-454-2000
Elgin City Clerk 150 Dexter Court Elgin IL 60120 847-931-5660
Elgin City Hall 150 Dexter Court Elgin IL 60120 847-931-6100
Geneva City Hall 22 S 1st St Geneva IL 60134 630-232-7494
Hempshire Village Township Town Hall 234 South State Street Hampshire IL 60140 847-683-2181
Kane County Clerk 719 South Batavia Avenue Geneva IL 60134 630-232-5950
Kane County Clerk 540 Randall Road St. Charles IL 60174 630-232-3413
Kane County Health Department 113 South Grove Avenue Elgin IL 60120 847-695-0848
Kane County Health Department 1240 North Highland Avenue Aurora IL 60506 630-897-1124
North Aurora Village Clerk 25 East State Street North Aurora IL 60542 630-897-8228
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $30-$50
4. Identification: State-issued photo identification and a birth certificate
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 50
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation if within 6 weeks
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Illinois, both members of the couple must visit a marriage license agent at the County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the paperwork, you will have to wait 24 hours for the marriage license to be valid. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the county authorities. You will then be able to file to receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Kane County, Illinois?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age and identification, and pay a fee. It takes 24 hours for the license to be valid.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Illinois?
A marriage license can cost between $30 and $50 in Illinois, depending on the county. The fee must be paid in cash.
How old do you have to be to get married in Kane County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Illinois. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.