Search for Carroll County, IL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Carroll County Marriage License 301 North Main Street Mount Carroll IL 61053 815-244-0221
Carroll County Clerk PO Box 152 Mount Carroll IL 61053 815-244-0224
Carroll County Health Department 820 South Mill Street Mount Carroll IL 61053 815-244-8855
Chadwick City Hall 225 N Main St Chadwick IL 61014 815-684-5188
Lanark City Hall 108 West Carroll Street Lanark IL 61046 815-493-2431
Pleasant Valley Township Town Hall 9009 East Willow Road Mount Carroll IL 61053 815-947-3096
Shannon City Hall 17 E Market St Shannon IL 61078 815-864-2195
Shannon Village Clerk 17 East Market Street Shannon IL 61078 815-864-2194
Whiteside County Health Department 1121 North 5th Street Savanna IL 61074 815-273-4334
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $30-$50
4. Identification: State-issued photo identification and a birth certificate
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 50
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation if within 6 weeks
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Illinois, both members of the couple must visit a marriage license agent at the County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the paperwork, you will have to wait 24 hours for the marriage license to be valid. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the county authorities. You will then be able to file to receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Carroll County, Illinois?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age and identification, and pay a fee. It takes 24 hours for the license to be valid.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Illinois?
A marriage license can cost between $30 and $50 in Illinois, depending on the county. The fee must be paid in cash.
How old do you have to be to get married in Carroll County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Illinois. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.