Search for Coles County, IL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Ashmore Town Hall 10 W Ashmore St Ashmore IL 61912 217-349-8332
Ashmore Village Clerk 10 West Ashmore Street Ashmore IL 61912 217-349-8332
Charleston City Hall 520 Jackson Avenue Charleston IL 61920 217-345-8430
Coles County Clerk 651 Jackson Avenue Charleston IL 61920 217-348-0501
Coles County Health 825 18th Street Charleston IL 61920 217-348-0526
Humboldt Town Hall COMMERCIAL St Humboldt IL 61931 217-856-2165
Mattoon City Clerk 208 North 19th Street Mattoon IL 61938 217-235-5654
Mattoon City Hall 1710 Wabash Avenue Mattoon IL 61938 217-258-7918
Oakland City Hall 15 East Main Street Oakland IL 61943 217-346-2651
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $30-$50
4. Identification: State-issued photo identification and a birth certificate
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 50
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation if within 6 weeks
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Illinois, both members of the couple must visit a marriage license agent at the County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the paperwork, you will have to wait 24 hours for the marriage license to be valid. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the county authorities. You will then be able to file to receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Coles County, Illinois?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age and identification, and pay a fee. It takes 24 hours for the license to be valid.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Illinois?
A marriage license can cost between $30 and $50 in Illinois, depending on the county. The fee must be paid in cash.
How old do you have to be to get married in Coles County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Illinois. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.