Search for McHenry County, IL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
McHenry County Marriage License 667 Ware Road Woodstock IL 60098 815-334-4242
Algonquin Village Clerk 2200 Harnish Drive Algonquin IL 60102 847-658-4322
Crystal Lake City Hall 100 West Woodstock Street Crystal Lake IL 60014 815-459-2020
Harvard City Hall 201 West Front Street Harvard IL 60033 815-943-6468
Marengo City Hall 132 East Prairie Street Marengo IL 60152 815-568-7112
McHenry City Hall 333 South Green Street McHenry IL 60050 815-363-2100
McHenry County Health Department 100 Northwest Highway Cary IL 60013 815-459-5151
Mchenry County Clerk 2200 North Seminary Avenue Woodstock IL 60098 815-334-4234
Oakwood Hills Clerk 3020 North Park Drive Cary IL 60013 815-444-9453
Riley Township Clerk 21451 Norway Ct Marengo IL 60152 815-568-7335
Seneca Township Town Hall 16506 Garden Valley Road Woodstock IL 60098 815-923-2288
Wonder Lake Clerk 4200 Thompson Road Wonder Lake IL 60097 815-728-0839
Woodstock City Hall 121 West Calhoun Street Woodstock IL 60098 815-338-4300
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $30-$50
4. Identification: State-issued photo identification and a birth certificate
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 50
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation if within 6 weeks
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Illinois, both members of the couple must visit a marriage license agent at the County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the paperwork, you will have to wait 24 hours for the marriage license to be valid. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the county authorities. You will then be able to file to receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in McHenry County, Illinois?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age and identification, and pay a fee. It takes 24 hours for the license to be valid.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Illinois?
A marriage license can cost between $30 and $50 in Illinois, depending on the county. The fee must be paid in cash.
How old do you have to be to get married in McHenry County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Illinois. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.