Search for Macon County, IL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Macon County Marriage License 141 South Main Street Decatur IL 62523 217-424-1305
Argenta City Hall 330 Warren Street Argenta IL 62501 217-795-4529
Decatur Township Clerk 1620 South Taylorville Road Decatur IL 62521 217-429-5284
Long Creek Village Clerk 7135 Old Route 36 Decatur IL 62522 217-864-5263
Macon City Hall 1039 Woodcock Rd Macon IL 62544 217-764-3643
Macon County Clerk 141 South Main Street Decatur IL 62523 217-424-1305
Macon County Health Department 1221 East Condit Street Decatur IL 62521 217-423-6988
Maroa City Clerk 120 South Locust Street Maroa IL 61756 217-794-2206
Maroa Township Town Hall 109 North Walnut Street Maroa IL 61756 217-794-3720
Niantic City Hall 357 East Lockhart Street Niantic IL 62551 217-668-2458
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $30-$50
4. Identification: State-issued photo identification and a birth certificate
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 50
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation if within 6 weeks
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Illinois, both members of the couple must visit a marriage license agent at the County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the paperwork, you will have to wait 24 hours for the marriage license to be valid. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the county authorities. You will then be able to file to receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Macon County, Illinois?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age and identification, and pay a fee. It takes 24 hours for the license to be valid.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Illinois?
A marriage license can cost between $30 and $50 in Illinois, depending on the county. The fee must be paid in cash.
How old do you have to be to get married in Macon County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Illinois. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.