Iroquois County Marriage Licenses

Search for Iroquois County IL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Crescent City City Hall E Main Crescent City IL 60928 815-683-2363


Ford Iroquois Health Department 114 North 3rd Street Watseka IL 60970 815-432-2483

Gilman City Hall 215 North Central Street Gilman IL 60938 815-265-4213

Iroquois County Clerk 1001 East Grant Street Watseka IL 60970 815-432-6960

Sheldon Town Hall 165 West Center Street Sheldon IL 60966 815-429-4061

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent

3. Cost/fees: $30-$50

4. Identification: State-issued photo identification and a birth certificate

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 60 days

9. Waiting Period: 24 hours

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 50

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation if within 6 weeks

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Iroquois County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Illinois, both members of the couple must visit a marriage license agent at the County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the paperwork, you will have to wait 24 hours for the marriage license to be valid. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the county authorities. You will then be able to file to receive a certified marriage certificate.

How do I get a marriage license in Iroquois County, Illinois?

You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age and identification, and pay a fee. It takes 24 hours for the license to be valid.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Illinois?

A marriage license can cost between $30 and $50 in Illinois, depending on the county. The fee must be paid in cash.

How old do you have to be to get married in Iroquois County?

You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Illinois. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.