Search for Sangamon County, IL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Illinois Marriage License Illinois Dept. Of Public Health, Division Of Vital Records, 605 W. Jefferson St. Springfield IL 62702 217-782-6553
Auburn City Hall 324 West Jefferson Street Auburn IL 62615 217-438-6151
Buffalo Village Clerk 109 South Carter Street Buffalo IL 62515 217-623-5788
Gardner Town Hall 1266 North Bradfordton Road Springfield IL 62711 217-546-0451
Illinois Health Department 825 N Rutledge St Springfield IL 62702 217-782-6562
Pleasant Plains City Hall 200 West 4th Street Pleasant Plains IL 62677 217-626-1024
Riverton City Hall 1200 Riverton Road Riverton IL 62561 217-629-9122
Sangamon County Clerk 200 South 9th Street Springfield IL 62701 217-753-6707
Sangamon County Health Department 2833 South Grand Avenue East Springfield IL 62703 217-535-3100
Springfield City Hall 800 East Monroe Street Springfield IL 62701 217-789-2414
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $30-$50
4. Identification: State-issued photo identification and a birth certificate
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 50
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation if within 6 weeks
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Illinois, both members of the couple must visit a marriage license agent at the County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the paperwork, you will have to wait 24 hours for the marriage license to be valid. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the county authorities. You will then be able to file to receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Sangamon County, Illinois?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age and identification, and pay a fee. It takes 24 hours for the license to be valid.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Illinois?
A marriage license can cost between $30 and $50 in Illinois, depending on the county. The fee must be paid in cash.
How old do you have to be to get married in Sangamon County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Illinois. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.