Search for Montgomery County, IL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Coffeen City Hall 107 Locust Street Coffeen IL 62017 217-534-2216
Harvel Village Town Hall 201 Main Street Harvel IL 62538 217-229-3422
Hillsboro City Hall 447 South Main Street Hillsboro IL 62049 217-532-5566
Irving Village Clerk 110 State Street Irving IL 62051 217-533-4345
Litchfield City Clerk 120 East Ryder Street Litchfield IL 62056 217-324-2022
Litchfield City Hall 120 East Ryder Street Litchfield IL 62056 217-324-4212
Litchfield Health Department 512 East Edwards Street Litchfield IL 62056 618-324-2234
Montgomery County Clerk PO Box 595 Hillsboro IL 62049 217-532-9530
Montgomery County Health Department 317 West Union Avenue Litchfield IL 62056 217-324-3430
Montgomery County Health Department 1404 School Street Hillsboro IL 62049 217-532-2607
Nokomis City Clerk 22 South Cedar Street Nokomis IL 62075 217-563-2514
North Litchfield Town Hall 210 West Kirkham Street Litchfield IL 62056 217-324-4635
Raymond Village Clerk 305 West Broad Street Raymond IL 62560 217-229-4516
Witt City Clerk 106 West Broadway Street Witt IL 62094 217-594-2814
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $30-$50
4. Identification: State-issued photo identification and a birth certificate
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 50
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation if within 6 weeks
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Illinois, both members of the couple must visit a marriage license agent at the County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the paperwork, you will have to wait 24 hours for the marriage license to be valid. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the county authorities. You will then be able to file to receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Montgomery County, Illinois?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age and identification, and pay a fee. It takes 24 hours for the license to be valid.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Illinois?
A marriage license can cost between $30 and $50 in Illinois, depending on the county. The fee must be paid in cash.
How old do you have to be to get married in Montgomery County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Illinois. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.