Search for Knox County, IL marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Knox County Marriage License 200 South Cherry Street Galesburg IL 61401 309-345-3815
Abingdon City Hall 114 East Meek Street Abingdon IL 61410 309-462-3182
East Galesburg City Hall 100 West 1st Street East Galesburg IL 61430 309-343-3312
Galesburg City Hall 55 West Tompkins Street Galesburg IL 61401 309-343-4181
Galesburg Township Town Hall 2138 Monmouth Blvd Galesburg IL 61401 309-342-7934
Knox County Clerk 200 South Cherry Street Galesburg IL 61401 309-345-3815
Knoxville City Hall 33 North Public Square Knoxville IL 61448 309-289-2814
Williamsfield City Clerk 117 East Gale Street Williamsfield IL 61489 309-639-2303
Yates City Village Clerk 102 W Main St Yates City IL 61572 309-358-1694
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $30-$50
4. Identification: State-issued photo identification and a birth certificate
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, if over 50
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation if within 6 weeks
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Illinois, both members of the couple must visit a marriage license agent at the County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have submitted the paperwork, you will have to wait 24 hours for the marriage license to be valid. You must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the county authorities. You will then be able to file to receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Knox County, Illinois?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age and identification, and pay a fee. It takes 24 hours for the license to be valid.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Illinois?
A marriage license can cost between $30 and $50 in Illinois, depending on the county. The fee must be paid in cash.
How old do you have to be to get married in Knox County?
You must reach the minimum of 16 years of age to get married in Illinois. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.