Search for Texas marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $60-$81; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days for divorce
13. Proxy Marriage: Yes
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Texas, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can complete the paperwork online in advance. Active-duty military stationed abroad can submit an Absentee Affidavit if they are unable to apply for the marriage license in person. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the license and submit it to the County Clerk's Office to be recorded. Once the license is recorded, you will receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Texas?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Some counties provide online application forms which you can complete in advance. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Texas?
The state-wide fee for a marriage license in Texas is $60. Some counties charge additional fees up to $21. The state fee may be waived if the couple completes a qualifying premarital education class.
How old do you have to be to get married in Texas?
In Texas, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.
Can you get married under 18 in Texas?
Yes. Minors who have reached the age of 16 can get married in Texas with the consent of a parent or legal guardian. Parental consent forms are available at the County Clerk's Office, and the parent must appear in person to sign the form. Without parental consent 16 or 17-year-olds can marry, with judicial approval. Minors who are under the age of 16 can only marry with a court order.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Texas.
Who can legally marry you in Texas?
The state of Texas recognizes certain individuals as approved wedding officiants. This includes religious authorities and some government officials, such as judges, magistrates, and justices of the peace. Ministers, priests, and other clergy do not need to receive any special license to perform weddings in Texas.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The state of Texas does not require witnesses for a marriage.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Texas?
There is a 3 day waiting period between submitting the marriage license application and when the license becomes valid. This waiting period is waived if you complete a qualifying premarital education class. You must get married before your marriage license expires. The license is valid for 90 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Texas marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Texas, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license if a prior marriage ended due to death or annulment. However, the state of Texas does not permit people to apply for a marriage license within 30 days after a divorce is finalized. The application does not require proof that previous marriages have ended.
Can you get married by proxy?
Yes. Proxy marriage is legal in Texas. However, it is only allowed when one partner is in the military and has been stationed outside of the country.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Texas?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Texas.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. You cannot marry your cousin in Texas.
Is Texas a common law marriage state?
Yes. Common law marriages are recognized by the state of Texas. Couples must submit a Declaration of Informal Marriage for their marriage to be recognized by the state.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Texas state or county government, the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.