Search for Harris County, TX marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Harris County Marriage License 201 Caroline Street Houston TX 77002 713-755-6411
Baytown City Hall 2401 Market Street Baytown TX 77520 281-422-8281
Bellaire City Hall 7008 South Rice Avenue Bellaire TX 77401 713-662-8222
Collingsworth County Clerk 800 East Wellington Street Houston TX 77076 806-447-2408
Deer Park City Hall 710 East San Augustine Street Deer Park TX 77536 281-478-7201
Galena Park City Hall 2000 Clinton Drive Galena Park TX 77547 713-672-2556
Harris County Clerk 7900 Will Clayton Parkway Humble TX 77338 281-540-1173
Harris County Clerk 6831 Cypresswood Drive Spring TX 77379 281-379-1057
Harris County Clerk 10851 Scarsdale Boulevard Houston TX 77089 281-464-0115
Harris County Clerk 107 Shaw Avenue Pasadena TX 77506 713-473-9048
Harris County Clerk 701 West Baker Road Baytown TX 77521 281-422-0253
Harris County Health Department 701 East Main Street Tomball TX 77375 281-255-3881
Harris County Health Department 2223 West Loop South Freeway Houston TX 77027 713-439-6000
Harris County Health Department 5668 West Little York Road Houston TX 77091 281-447-2800
Harris County Health Department 1730 Humble Place Drive Humble TX 77338 281-446-4222
Harris County Health Department 3737 Red Bluff Road Pasadena TX 77502 713-740-5000
Hedwig Village City Hall 955 Piney Point Rd Houston TX 77024 713-465-6009
Houston City Hall 901 Bagby Street Houston TX 77002 713-837-0311
Houston Health Department 2020 North Loop West Houston TX 77018 713-767-3000
Humble City Hall 114 West Higgins Street Humble TX 77338 281-446-3061
Humble Health Department 114 West Higgins Street Humble TX 77338 281-446-3061
Katy City Hall 910 Avenue C Katy TX 77493 281-391-4800
Morgans Point City Hall 1415 East Main Street La Porte TX 77571 281-471-2171
Pasadena City Hall 1211 Southmore Avenue Pasadena TX 77502 713-477-1511
Pasadena Health Department 901 Curtin Street Houston TX 77018 713-475-5529
Pasadena Health Department 1114 Davis Street Pasadena TX 77506 713-475-5529
Seabrook City Hall 1700 1st Street Seabrook TX 77586 281-291-5600
South Houston City Hall 1018 Dallas Street South Houston TX 77587 713-947-7700
Taylor Lake Village City Hall 500 Kirby Road Seabrook TX 77586 281-326-2843
Tomball City Hall 401 Market Street Tomball TX 77375 281-351-5484
Webster City Clerk 101 Pennsylvania Avenue Webster TX 77598 281-338-6702
Webster City Hall 101 Pennsylvania Avenue Webster TX 77598 281-332-1826
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $60-$81; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days for divorce
13. Proxy Marriage: Yes
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Texas, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can complete the paperwork online in advance. Active-duty military stationed abroad can submit an Absentee Affidavit if they are unable to apply for the marriage license in person. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the license and submit it to the County Clerk's Office to be recorded. Once the license is recorded, you will receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Harris County, Texas?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Some counties provide online application forms which you can complete in advance. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Texas?
The state-wide fee for a marriage license in Texas is $60. Some counties charge additional fees up to $21. The state fee may be waived if the couple completes a qualifying premarital education class.
How old do you have to be to get married in Harris County?
In Texas, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.