Search for Lubbock County, TX marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Lubbock County Marriage License 904 Broadway Street Lubbock TX 79403 806-775-1000
Idalou City Hall 208 Main Street Idalou TX 79329 806-892-2531
Lubbock City Hall 1625 13th Street Lubbock TX 79401 806-775-3000
Lubbock County Clerk 904 Broadway Street Lubbock TX 79403 806-775-1111
Lubbock County Clerks Office 904 Broadway Street Lubbock TX 79403 806-775-1630
Lubbock Health Department 1902 Texas Avenue Lubbock TX 79411 806-775-2933
New Deal City Hall 404 South Monroe Avenue Lubbock TX 79403 806-746-6399
Ransom Canyon City Hall 24 Lee Kitchens Drive Ransom Canyon TX 79366 806-829-2470
Shallowater City Hall 801 Avenue H Shallowater TX 79363 806-832-4521
Slaton City Hall 130 South 9th Street Slaton TX 79364 806-828-2000
Wolfforth City Hall 302 Main Street Wolfforth TX 79382 806-855-4120
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $60-$81; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days for divorce
13. Proxy Marriage: Yes
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Texas, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can complete the paperwork online in advance. Active-duty military stationed abroad can submit an Absentee Affidavit if they are unable to apply for the marriage license in person. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the license and submit it to the County Clerk's Office to be recorded. Once the license is recorded, you will receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Lubbock County, Texas?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Some counties provide online application forms which you can complete in advance. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Texas?
The state-wide fee for a marriage license in Texas is $60. Some counties charge additional fees up to $21. The state fee may be waived if the couple completes a qualifying premarital education class.
How old do you have to be to get married in Lubbock County?
In Texas, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.